Silhouettes in Nature

IMG_0227

Branching Out

Took this photograph around a year ago and of all the trees in the surrounding area this was the only one without any leaves on it. I stood underneath the tree and took a picture of this particular part of it. I’m quite happy with how it turned out. Since the sky was pretty cloudy and was completely blocking out the sun it helped to get that silhouette effect again. 🙂

Tip: Even if taking the shot may seem easy, be sure to first get the right angle otherwise a supposed ‘easy’ shot may not turn out so well. I had to actually try many different angles before I found the right one (which turned out to be the photograph above).

IMG_0539

A Shelter

The first picture and this second picture were not taken on the same day but both were simply very cloudy days. I had to try out different angles before deciding to capture the scene. I managed to get the silhouette-ish effect (sort of) for the trees in the foreground but the ones in the background still show their green colour.

Rather than the usual black silhouettes this particular photograph can be seen as having an overall dark green tone to it which I think adds to its charm. It may not be a picture of the perfect silhouettes but is definitely one of dark green silhouettes and I’m pretty satisfied with it. 🙂


I reserve all rights to my photographs. Do not use any photograph without gaining permission from me first. If allowed, then please make sure to credit me wherever you post.

Leave a Reply

